Council decision making

To follow any changes to this service, visit the Council Service Updates page.

North Lincolnshire is divided into 17 electoral wards represented by 43 councillors. These wards have one, two or three council seats. Members conduct is overseen by a Code of Conduct and there is a Register of Interests for members.

All councillors meet together as the council in order to decide the council’s overall policies and set the budget each year.

Other key roles of council are the debating and approval of policy development, the promotion of community engagement and the receipt and confirmation of meetings of scrutiny panels, and committees.

Meetings of the council are normally open to the public.

The people of North Lincolnshire are also represented by Town and Parish Councils, Members of Parliament and Members of the European Parliament.

Political control

The composition of the Council is Conservative is the largest party with 27 seats, the Labour Party 15 seats and there is one Independent seat on the council.

Councillors are elected every four years and are democratically accountable to residents of their wards. The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Decision making structure

The council has a Cabinet. In addition there are four overview and scrutiny panels in place.

Meetings and decisions

All meetings of the council, its committees and panels are arranged and supported by the council’s Democratic Services.

The Mayor

Councillors elect a Mayor every year to represent the council and people of North Lincolnshire.

North Lincolnshire Council operates under a formal constitution.

Monday to Thursday: 9am to 4.30pm

Friday: 9am to 4pm


Richard Mell,
Service Manager : Democracy
Church Square House
30-40 High Street
DN15 6NL

01724 296230