School Governors – support and vacancies

To follow any changes to this service, visit the Council Service Updates page.

Apply to be a school governor in North Lincolnshire. Who can be a school governor, types of school governor, support available and current vacancies.

Becoming a school governor

Anyone can become school governors. No special qualifications are required, but you must be 18 or over on the date when you are elected or appointed.

Different types of school governor

The different types of school governors are:

  • Parent governors: selected by election (or appointment if insufficient people stand for election). They are parents and carers of children at the school
  • Staff governors: selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school
  • Co-opted governors / Community: appointed by the governing body to represent community interests
  • Authority governors: appointed by the local authority. They are representative of the local authority
  • Foundation governors (not community schools): appointed by the school’s founding body, church or other organisation named in the school’s instrument of government
  • Associate members (not governors): appointed by the governing body to attend committee meetings and/or full governing body meetings due to their particular skills or experience

Time commitment

The time needed to be an active school governor can be as little as six to eight hours each school month. This includes preparation time for meetings and visits. The amount of time will vary depending on how much you are able and willing to give to the role. The normal term of office for a school governor is four years. However, governors are volunteers who can leave at any time. They can also be re-appointed or re-elected.

Apply to become a school governor

If you are interested in applying for any of our vacancies to become either a co-opted, community or local authority governor, please complete an online application.

Please email gov.bodies@northlincs.gov.uk if you would like a printed copy of the form or if you have any questions.

We provide support and training for our school governors to help them in their role. Our training courses are emailed to all governors annually.

All school governors receive a newsletter each term with details of training courses, legal advice and latest news.

All governing bodies are supported by a trained clerk. Most governing bodies purchase the clerking service from the council. Clerks offer advice and support to the governing body as well as administration.

The North Lincolnshire Association of Governing Bodies represents and supports governing bodies in North Lincolnshire.

The Governors Handbook  includes information about the role and legal duties of governing bodies and Governors in maintained schools and academies (including free schools)

The National Association of Governors represents school governors in England. The NGA is an independent charity that aims to support and promote good governance in our schools.

Current school governor vacancies in North Lincolnshire as at 9 March 2021

Vacancy type: Co-opted

  • Alkborough Primary School
  • Althorpe and Keadby Primary School
  • Barton St Peter’s CE Primary School
  • Baysgarth School
  • Berkeley Primary School
  • Bottesford Infant School
  • Bowmandale Primary School
  • Broughton Primary School
  • Burton Upon Stather Primary School
  • Bushfield Road Infant School
  • Enderby Road Infant School
  • Engineering UTC Northern Lincolnshire
  • Gunness & Burringham CE Primary School
  • Killingholme Primary School
  • Kirton Lindsey Primary School
  • Leys Farm Junior School
  • Messingham Primary School
  • Oakfield Primary School
  • The Axholme Academy
  • The Grange Primary School
  • The Humber Estuary Federation (Goxhill Primary School, East Halton Primary School, New Holland CE/Methodist Primary School)
  • The St Barnabas’ and St Helena’s Federation
  • The Trentside Federation (St Martin’s CE Primary School, West Butterwick CE Primary School, Haxey CE Primary School)
  • The Westcliffe and Priory Lane Federation (Westcliffe Primary School and Priory Lane Community School)
  • The Winterton Federation (Winterton CE Infant School & Winterton Junior School)

Vacancy type: Community

  • Darley Centre
  • The Axholme Academy

Vacancy type: Local Authority

  • Darley Centre
  • Frederick Gough School
  • Kirton Lindsey Primary School
  • The Riverside Federation (Luddington and Garthorpe Primary School & Eastoft CE Primary School)
  • Wootton St Andrew’s CE Primary School

Vacancy type: Parent

  • Barton St Peter’s CE Primary School
  • Berkeley Primary School
  • Bowmandale Primary School
  • Crosby Primary School
  • Darley Centre
  • Engineering UTC North Lincolnshire
  • Frodingham Infant School
  • John Harrison CE Primary School
  • Killingholme Primary School
  • Leys Farm Junior School
  • Messingham Primary School
  • Oakfield Primary School
  • St Augustine Webster Catholic Voluntary Academy
  • St Bernadette’s Catholic Primary Voluntary Academy
  • St Luke’s Primary School
  • The Belton Wroot Federation (Belton All Saints CE Primary School & Wroot Travis Charity Primary School)
  • The Grange Primary School
  • The St Hybald’s Academy Trust (Hibaldstow Academy & Scawby Academy)
  • The Vale Academy & Worlaby Academy
  • The Winterton Federation (Winterton CE Infant School & Winterton Junior School)
  • Westwoodside CE Primary School
  • Willoughby Road Primary Academy