Licensing Committee

To follow any changes to this service, visit the Council Service Updates page.

The licensing committee is responsible for policy issues including recommending changes to the council’s licensing policy under the Licensing Act 2003.

The committee also has a duty to promote the four licensing objectives as defined in the Act and sets and reviews appropriate licensing conditions and fees and charges.

More information

Members of the licensing committee

Councillors (15 members)

  • K Vickers (Conservative) (Chairman)
  • P Vickers (Conservative) (Vice-Chairman)
  • M Ali (Labour)
  • R Allcock (Conservative)
  • S Armitage (Labour)
  • P Clark (Conservative)
  • A Davison (Labour)
  • T Ellerby (Labour)
  • R Hannigan (Conservative)
  • T Mitchell (Conservative)
  • H Rayner (Labour)
  • H Rowson (Conservative)
  • C Sherwood (Conservative)
  • S Swift (Labour)
  • D Wells (Conservative)

The licensing (activities) sub-committee which consists of three members of the committee chosen for each meeting, considers and determines applications made under the Licensing Act 2003 when objections have been received and mediation by the licensing unit has not been successful.

The Licensing (Miscellaneous) Sub-Committee considers other licensing issues, including “taxi” licenses.

Members of the Licensing (Miscellaneous) Sub-Committee

K Vickers (Conservative) (Chairman)
P Vickers (Conservative) (Vice-Chairman)
S Armitage (Labour)
P Clark (Conservative)
H Rayner (Labour)

Monday to Thursday 9 am to 5 pm

Friday 9 am to 4.30 pm

If you have any queries on the licensing committee please contact democratic services on the following numbers:

01724 296014 or 296235