The Old Smithy on the High Street of Owston Ferry is just as it
would have been in 1958 when its owner left the building.
Owned by the Laming family the building was left undisturbed
until 1989 when the Owston Ferry Society decided to open it as a
village museum and heritage centre.
Visitors will find the forge, including the grime, just as it
would have been, and unusually two forges, with an array of
fascinating tools and equipment.
The Old Smithy
A pleasant courtyard displays hand-made agricultural machinery
that would have been used locally, and up the stairs an intriguing
museum provides an insight into living and working in Owston Ferry,
with many items from the village's past and an impressive
collection of photographs.
Wedding and anniversary blessings are special occasions at The
Smithy, with many couples renewing their wedding vows in a short
ceremony led by the Blacksmith. It is thought to be the only place
in England where this ceremony is performed and couples are
presented with an inscribed lucky horse-shoe and scroll to remember
their special day.
For further details of opening times, special events or to
arrange a wedding blessing please call 01427 728361.
The Smithy is open from April until September on Sunday
afternoons, 2pm to 5pm.
Admission: Adults £2, children 50p (under the age of